Idol (VIP #1) by Kristen Callihan

Idol (VIP, #1)Idol by Kristen Callihan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

“I’d say kissing her is like coming home, but I’ve never had a true home. I don’t know if the sense of rightness I feel with her means home or not. Right now it’s something stronger, tinged with desperation. I’m desperate for her. “

Oh my goodness. Oh my. Literally, that’s all I can say about this book because it was one of the best books that I’ve read this summer I’ve had reader’s block. Also, yes, my lovely readers, I have read a book about another rock star/musician. I can’t help it, I’ve got an addiction to sexy rock stars/musicians at the moment, so sue me.

Anyway, Liberty (Libby) Bell has lived a majority of her life in isolation, hidden away from the wonders and depravity of the world. Killian Jones on the other hand has lived life differently, being in the spotlight and experiencing all of the wonders and depravity that the world has to give. Somehow, fate brings these two unlikely characters together to see what type of music they can make together in the world.

This is a book in which I didn’t really hate any character which is a first for me considering there’s always that one person you want to hate in a book. I know I’m being redundant now, but Libby is one of my favorite female characters because she literally didn’t take any crap from anyone. She was a fireball who showed didn’t care what others thought of her and didn’t care what she really said to them. She just said what she thought of the situation and had comebacks for everything.

Killian, I honestly thought he was going to be a typical rocker at first. One who is alpha male, dominant, wants everything to go his way because he’s used to everything going his way. I was sure wrong on that front because he was anything but any of things. Yes he was dominant at times and alpha male, but he cared for others, he showed others that he cared, and he wasn’t spoiled. He had a tortured, pained side to him and it was refreshing reading about that. He just wanted what was best for everyone, shouldering everything from everyone because he didn’t want them to feel that pain or sadness. When he wasn’t doing that, he was being his sexy, sexy confident self which is what I love in a male character. All I can say is, I need me a Killian. What a babe.

When I first started reading it, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to finish it because I was afraid it was going to be like many other rock star books I’ve read. However, I was pleasantly surprised by how different it was. Libby and Killian went through their fair share of hardships with their relationship, but I’m glad they didn’t really give up right away and actually tried to understand each other. They didn’t let misunderstandings get in the way. Both were more mature and respectful towards one another and I loved that. Usually, one person does something and the other misunderstands, but they stuck by one another and Libby wasn’t a weepy female character trying to have everyone take care of her and she made sure of that. All of the other characters, Whip, Rye, Scottie, and Jax all have their issues, but they were awesome as well. Gotta say though, I LOVED Brenna. She was a great voice of reason for both Killian and Libby, she said what needed to be said and helped them through whatever they needed.

And don’t get me started on the sex scenes. Oh my goodness, I felt like I needed a fan or a cold shower or something because they were HOT, H-O-T. I liked how Libby and Killian didn’t really jump into bed with one another right away and started off as friends because the tension and holding back just helped catapult these scenes into the next stratosphere. Ah.

Takeaway from this book:

When you take care of others, don’t forget to take care of yourself and your own needs. Sometimes letting go is fine, but fight for what you REALLY, TRULY want and it will work out in the end. Determination and motivation are keys to living life because with them, they will take you on a journey you will never forget; they will bring out the true you, the real you.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

