The Rocker that Holds Me (The Rocker #1) by Terri Anne Browning

The Rocker That Holds Me (The Rocker, #1)The Rocker That Holds Me by Terri Anne Browning

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It was between a 3.5 and a 4 for me solely because of how the story didn’t really evolve and neither did the characters.

This was the first time in a long time since I’ve been so excited to sit there for an hour or so and finish reading a book. Good bye reader’s block!

Once I finished, I was sort of satisfied and sort of unsatisfied. I love Emmie, like I love her. In one my previous reviews, I had said that I hated or dislike fickle characters and that is because they are not reminiscent of my own personality in real life. I guess I enjoy reading stories with strong, dominant females who know what they want because they remind me of myself; although dependent on others at times, they can fend for themselves and that is why I enjoyed this short read with Emmie. She is just a ball of fire and has that feisty personality which I love. She gives it how it is without really caring what others think of her, blunt (but not bad blunt) and straight to the point is how I love female characters,

On the other hand, Nik seemed hot from some of the scenes I read, but I couldn’t really say any else about him other than he seemed caring and protective as well. I would have liked to see a little more character development in him and a bit more maturity, but other than that, I love him, but then again I somehow have a hidden spot for rockers in books I read, haha. I love the rest of Demon’s Wings though, gosh they all seem so pained and tortured, I wish I could somehow take that all away from where I’m sitting and reading.

With the storyline, I enjoyed how it was a quick, almost light read without too many distractions or drama, but reiterating what I said previously, I would have liked to see more character developments and maybe a bit more interaction between certain characters. Other than that, I did like the book a lot and what I took from it is this,

Always go for what you want because you never know what will happen. Really, what’s the worst thing that could possibly happen? Regret is the worse thing you could feel more so than pain. Sometimes feelings can be reciprocated, so go for what you want and don’t let anything, including yourself hold you back. Be straight, but be confident.

 
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

